Should You Report a "Fender Bender" Car Accident?
Suddenly you are in a car accident, but luckily no one seems hurt at the accident scene. Should you report the accident to your auto insurance company or the Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles? Yes!
Vermont law requires you to file an automobile accident report with the Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles whenever anyone is hurt or when the damage to all cars is more than $3,000.00. 23 VSA Section 1129(a). This report must be sent to the VT DMV within 72 hours of the accident.
If you do not report your car accident to your auto insurance company, then there may be delays in getting your car repaired and processing the benefits you are covered for. A delay in reporting personal injuries could hurt your ability to get a fair settlement for your injuries from the car accident.